7 Wonders, Heritage Sites, UNESCO

7 Wonders of the New World You Need to Know!

By Jillian on November 20, 2019 0 Comments

After undergoing many reconstructions, the title of 7 old world wonders has changed to a new list. Want to know the seven newest wonders of the world? Consider the following list.

In 2007, an organization called the 7 Wonders Foundation, officially released the New 7 Wonders of the World. The organization, headquartered in Zurich, Switzerland, chose seven new Wonders of the World based on the voting of more than 100 million people, regarding important sites or important buildings of historical heritage.

Millions of people say the following miracle is more worthy than others. Not surprisingly, the list is a UNESCO World Heritage site. Here are 7 Wonders of the New World, and the explanation is historic, iconic, and very photogenic.

1. Taj Mahal, India

This white marble building is a symbol of the love of Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan to his late wife, Mumtaz Mahal, who at the time gave birth to 14 children but died during childbirth.

Jahan, who lost his beloved wife, ordered around 20,000 workers and 1,000 elephants to build the Taj Mahal in 1631 and was completed in 1648. The building is located in Agra, the state of Uttar Pradesh. Exactly about 212 kilometers south of the Indian capital, New Delhi.

2. Chichén Itzá, Mexico

One of the 7 Wonders of this world, entered in the list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites after it was discovered in 1841. Chichén Itzá is the remnants of the Mayans, who, in their heyday around 600 AD to 1200 AD, were major cities and centers of strength in the area.

Chichén Itzá, if translated, means “on the lips of the public spring,” it is believed to refer to the Yucatán Peninsula famous for its underwater rivers, and open freshwater drainage holes, called cenotes. Water is an integral part of life here. And the possibility is a factor in the success of the city, before finally disappearing mysteriously.

3. Colosseum, Italy

This building looks like a stadium and is the place to fight gladiators and animals at that time. Colosseum began to be built by Emperor Vespasian around 70 AD, in Rome, Italy. The building was completed during the reign of his son, Titus, in the 80th century AD.

This large amphitheater has more than 80 entrances and seating for around 50,000 people. At present, some parts of the Colosseum have been destroyed by earthquakes, looters, vandals, or fires. However, it still has a beautiful view, many visitors until now.

4. Christ the Redeemer, Brazil

This iconic statue of Christ is in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. This statue was completed in 1931 and stood 98 feet tall with outstretched arms. Considered the most beautiful man-made monument in the world, and a symbol of peace and welcome.

5. Petra, Jordan

This relic site was carved into the stone surface, which is very large and extraordinary, and is believed to have been founded around 300 BC. Petra comes from the ancient Greek “Petros” which means “stone.”

This place was raised in the film ‘Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade’ (1989). Located south of Jordan between the Dead Sea and the Red Sea, a few hours drive from the capital, Amman.

6. Great Wall, China

One of the seven wonders of the world in Asia is a large wall that snakes over the hill border between China and Mongolia, about 20,000 kilometers (12,427 miles) long and crosses nine provinces.

The wall was actually built at different times and for different reasons. The older wall dates from 700 BC, and these parts show their age to this day.

Some parts of the wall that felt newer were built during the Ming Dynasty when the Chinese were at war with the Mongols. But the Mongols, under Kublai Khan’s orders, broke through this wall around the 1300s and established settlements and trade areas in what is now Beijing.

7. Machu Picchu, Peru

Well, the last of the seven new wonders of the world is Machu Picchu in Peru. One of the most impressive sites in the world built 7,000 feet above sea level and is considered the most difficult destination to reach from all the destinations on this list.

Machu Picchu is an ancient fortress built by the Incas in the 15th century. However, construction was not finished due to the invasion of Spain in the 16th century. It is estimated that only around 750 people live here because it is a kingdom and not a decent city. In the original language, Quechua, the name means “Old Peak.”

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *